Coffee has grown to be a staple of most people’s lives.  Most can’t live without it just because it gives them that extra boost for those groggy mornings and afternoons.  Personally, I cannot drink coffee just because I get major stomach pain, but I’ve always wanted that caffeine boost.  Of course, energy drinks have lots of caffeine, but they are also terrible for your health.  A few months ago I started researching different alternatives for coffee.  I eventually stumbled upon a company called Zest Tea, who makes loose leaf teas that contain as much caffeine as coffee.

An average cup of coffee contains 100-150 mg of caffeine per cup.  An average cup of tea contains at most 50 mg of caffeine per cup. Zest Tea creates their own teas that contain 135-155 mg of caffeine per cup.  They claim that their combination of caffeine and L-Theanine create a more steady alertness versus the jittery side effects you get with coffee.  I can definitely attest that drinking this tea helps me stay alert at work throughout my day.

Zest Tea offers 4 different flavors: Blue Lady Black, Apple Cinnamon Black, Earl Grey Black, and Pomegranate Mojito Green.  My personal favorite is definitely the Pomegranate Mojito Green, just because it has a refreshing mint flavor to it.  Blue Lady Black is definitely a close second if you’re looking for a fruitier more floral taste.  If you can’t decide what to get, you can always go for their sampler packs to try all of them.  Nevertheless, they all taste delicious and I prefer them over the taste of coffee any day.

